To the content

Make your submissions now!

02-Starting-NOW_Bobs-2015_Milestoneposting_600x240pxThe Bobs are underway with a new look and orientation. In addition to the Jury Categories of Social Change, Privacy & Security and Arts & Media, Deutsche Welle will also hand out the Freedom of Speech Award.

The international Jury will determine the winners in the contest’s multilingual categories while an online vote open to all Internet users will determine the winners of The Bobs’ 14 language-specific categories.

Taking submissions until March 12

Starting today, you can make submissions for all 17 categories at The Bobs. Then it will be up to the jury to decide on a list of nominees in each category. The more exciting, innovative and interesting your submissions now, the better the contest will be when it comes time to determine the winners.

Who can participate?

Submissions must be in one of the contest’s languages (which are Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian). Websites need to be freely accessible to the general public – that means no passwords allowed. Don’t get hung up on online formats, the contest is open to Facebook pages, YouTube channels, microblogs, podcasts – whatever online material you find interesting and inspiring is welcome at The Bobs. Check out our Rules if you’re aching for more detailed regulations.

Jury Categories

The jury members will get together in Berlin in may to determine the winners of the three Jury Categories, which consist of nominees from each of The Bobs’ 14 languages. The themes of these categories are Social Change, Privacy & Security and Arts & Media.

Voting Categories

But that’s not all at The Bobs. There are also 14 language-specific categories (one for each of the contest’s languages). Winners in these categories will be determined by an online vote stating on April 9.

On May 3 all the winners will be announced right here at Check out the Timeline for the contest’s other important dates.

Freedom of Speech Award

For the first time, Deutsche Welle will be handing out the Freedom of Speech Award. It honors a person or initiative that takes an exemplary stand for human rights and freedom of expression in the digital world.

The winner of the Freedom Speech Award and winners in the three Jury Categories will all be invited to receive their awards as part of Deutsche Welle’s Global Media Forum in Bonn, Germany, (June 22-24). The theme of this year’s conference is Media and Foreign Policy in the Digital Age.

If you’re reading this far in the post, you’re probably interested in keeping up with us. Why now follow us on Facebook and Twitter.