To the content

Saudi-blogger Raif Badawi awarded 2015 Sakharov Prize


Top human rights prize goes to Raif Badawi. Previous winners include Nobel Peace Prize laureates Aung San Suu Kyi and Nelson Mandela.

Read more

Raif Badawi’s wife accepts DW Freedom of Speech Award

with prizeeditedEnsaf Haidar, wife of blogger Raif Badawi, sentenced to 1,000 lashes by a Saudi court, appeared at DW’s Berlin headquarters to accept the Freedom of Speech Award. Haidar also announced the creation of a new foundation.

Haidar accepted DW’s first Freedom of Speech Award from DW Director General Peter Limbourg at the end of a press conference on Friday, which she used to announce the creation of the Raif Badawi Foundation for Freedom (RBFF).

Read more

Turkey will be voting again on November 1st. The parliamentary elections earlier this year (7.6.15) brought an end to more than a decade’s rule by President Recep Tayyip Erdogan’s ruling Justice and Development Party (AKP).

Read more


After the killing of secular bloggers in Bangladesh, the country’s security forces have announced the arrest of three suspects. It is too early to interpret the arrests as a breakthrough, writes DW’s Grahame Lucas.

Read more
1 2 3 4 5 6