To the content

About The Bobs

Since 2004, The Bobs awards honor bloggers, activists and journalists in 14 languages that champion the open exchange of ideas, freedom of expression and human rights on the Internet.

The Bobs are the only global, international award honoring creative and brave projects online that cross language and cultural barriers and thereby showcases the best of what the ever-expanding World Wide Web has to offer.

The competition’s languages are: Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian.

Deutsche Welle will give out the Freedom of Speech Award for the first time in 2015.

Additionally, an international jury will name three additional winners in the multi-lingual categories “Social Change,” “Privacy & Security” and “Arts & Media.” An online vote open to everyone on the Internet will determine the People’s Choice Awards in each of the contest’s 14 language-specific categories.

Past winners of The Bobs include: Yoani Sánchez (Cuba), Lina Ben Mhenni (Tunisia), Ushahidi (Kenya), the Sunlight Foundation (USA), Li Chengpeng (China), and Alaa Abd El-Fattah (Egypt) for Manal and Alaa’s bit bucket.

Former jury members of The Bobs include: Michael Anti, Isaac Mao, Rustem Adagamov, Erik Hersman, Rosana Hermann, Loïc Le Meur, Muzi Mei, Ammar Abdulhamid, Budi Putra, Mustafa Nayyem, Shahidul Alam, Andrew Baron, und Ai Weiwei.



The Bobs Award Ceremony 2014


E – Mail: feedback.bobs @
Twitter: @dw_thebobs
Hashtag: #thebobs15