To the content


There are 17 categories in a total of 14 languages in The Bobs. Submissions can be in the any of the following languages: Arabic, Bengali, Chinese, English, French, German, Hindi, Indonesian, Persian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Turkish, and Ukrainian.

Of the 17 categories in The Bobs, three are multilingual and 14 are language-specific. That means the three Jury Categories will contain projects, sites and campaigns nominated any of The Bobs languages and will be evaluated in relation to the category’s other nominees. The 14 language-specific categories will be reserved to a single language.

One Jury Award will be given out in each of the three multilingual Jury Categories. The winners of the 14 language-specific categories will be determined solely  by an online vote.

In addition to The Bobs’ 17 categories, Deutsche Welle will hand out the Freedom Of Speech Award. This honor will go to a person or initiative that takes an exemplary stand for human rights and freedom of expression in the digital world.

The multilingual Jury Categories
(Jury Awards)

  • Social Change
    This category honors projects that effectively promote socially relevant issues, such as education, gender equality, economic development, health and climate protection to name just a few. The winner  uses digital technologies to have a positive influence on the world and push for social change.
  • Privacy & Security
    This category focuses on the way we collect, share and protect information. It honors software or online services, informative websites and other projects that help people protect their data, personal information and privacy. Ways this can be done include innovative, user-friendly apps and awareness-raising projects. This category is also open to tool that help people circumvent censorship.
  • Arts & Media
    This category will honor projects that do an exceptional job of using digital communications to convey their own interpretation of socially relevant issues. The category is also open to projects that take an innovative approach to media and information, including data and citizen journalism.

14 Language-specific categories
(People’s Choice Award only)

Here we’re looking for the best websites in each of The Bobs 14 languages. Special attention will be given to sites that initiate discussions and provide top-quality analysis and commentary on current events.

There are no limits on the types of sites allowed in the language-specific categories. They are open to blogs, websites, microblogs, videos and podcasts.